Proofreading for Grown-Ups

I just read over my last post and discovered an error.  I wrote appreciate when I meant to say appreciative.  Spell check didn’t catch it, of course, and I read right over it.

According to Western Washington University professors Carmen Werder and Karen Hoelscher, what I made was a mistake, a slip-up, not an error, a wrong use resulting from incorrect knowledge.  Mistakes are fairly easy to catch, they argue in “Editing Matters” on InsideHigherEd.com, so read for them first.

Maybe ext next time.

They do offer in this article good advice about proofreading (spotting errors) and editing (fixing them).  I’m a big proponent of giving students a few minutes of direct instruction of proofing to remind them that it’s more than a quick skim.

Leave a Reply

